Quick Links

Useful Links

Close
Close

 

Year 2 learning activities

Welcome to the learning activities page for Year 2! Activities for this week are below. Click on the + to see downloads for previous weeks.

If your child is not coming to school this week please complete Day One and Two as well as the activities on the grid. All children should complete 3 activities per day from the grid (one English, one Maths and one other) on the days they are not in school.

Day One

Water wise PowerPoint

Being water wise worksheet

Day Two

Learning grid week commencing 13 July 2020

English task: A to Z of the year

English task: Summer holiday bucket list

English task: 'All about... Summer' comprehension

Maths task: Summer code breaking

Art task: What mindfulness means to me

 

You can listen to stories from your teacher on our YouTube channel.

Week beginning 23 March

Tuesday 24 March 2020

Wednesday 25 March 2020

Thursday 26 March 2020

Friday 27 March 2020

Week beginning 30 March

Monday 30 March 2020

Tuesday 31 March 2020

Wednesday 1 April 2020

Thursday 2 April 2020

Friday 3 April 2020

Friday 3 April 2020 - Reading comprehension activity

Friday 3 April 2020 - Rachel Carson PowerPoint

Easter break activities

Week beginning 6 April 2020

Week beginning 13 April 2020

Multiplication and division challenges for the week beginning 13 April

And these general Easter activity ideas

Week beginning 20 April

Monday 20 April 2020

Monday 20 April 2020 English activity

Tuesday 21 April 2020

Tuesday 21 April 2020 Judaism PowerPoint

Below is a link to a competition for Year 2 pupils. If you would like to enter please submit your entries by Friday 24 April. Details of how to submit them are on the document below.

Year 2 reading slogan competition

Wednesday 22 April 2020

Wednesday 22 April 2020 Acrostic poem features

Thursday 23 April 2020

Thursday 23 April 2020 PSHE Video

Friday 24 April 2020

Week beginning 27 April

Monday 27 April 2020

Monday 27 April 2020 Drawing skills activity

Tuesday 28 April 2020

Tuesday 28 April 2020 Motte and Bailey Castles PowerPoint

Tuesday 28 April 2020 Parts of a castle PowerPoint

Wednesday 29 April 2020

Thursday 30 April 2020

Friday 1 May 2020

Week beginning 4 May

Monday 4 May 2020

Tuesday 5 May 2020

Wednesday 6 May 2020

Wednesday 6 May 2020 Story plan sheet

Thursday 7 May 2020

Week beginning 11 May

Monday 11 May 2020

Monday 11 May 2020 VE Day Art lesson

Tuesday 12 May 2020

Tuesday 12 May 2020 Jewish place of worship PowerPoint

Wednesday 13 May 2020

Wednesday 13 May 2020 Roles of people in a castle

Thursday 14 May 2020

Friday 15 May 2020

Friday 15 May 2020 Reading comprehension activities

Friday 15 May 2020 Suitability of materials PowerPoint

Friday 15 May 2020 Suitability of materials worksheet

Week beginning 18 May 

Monday 18 May 2020

Tuesday 19 May 2020

Tuesday 19 May 2020 Counting in halves PowerPoint

Tuesday 19 May 2020 Counting in quarters PowerPoint

Tuesday 19 May 2020 What is a ceremony? PowerPoint

Wednesday 20 May 2020

Thursday 21 May 2020

Thursday 21 May 2020 Motte and Bailey reading comprehensions

Friday 22 May 2020

Friday 22 May 2020 Recycling PowerPoint

May half term

Over May half term we will not be setting daily tasks. Instead, we have created a grid of ten activities that are optional. Please note all year groups, from Nursery up to Year 2, have the exact same grid of activities; we thought it would be nice for those children who have siblings to complete the activities together. The children do not need to record evidence of these tasks in their books, for those of you that have children in Nursery or Reception you may like to upload photos or videos on to Tapestry. We hope you have a lovely half term. Please click on the link below to access the activities:

May half term activity grid

Week beginning 1 June

Miss Bradford and Mrs Edis have recorded a message for the Year 2 pupils about the learning that is coming up. Please play it to your child before accessing Monday's learning tasks.

Message for Year 2 pupils to play on Monday 1 June 2020

Monday 1 June 2020

Tuesday 2 June 2020

Tuesday 2 June 2020 2D shape quiz

Tuesday 2 June 2020 Properties of 2D shapes activities

Tuesday 2 June 2020 Armour PowerPoint

Wednesday 3 June 2020

Sorry for all the PowerPoints today, they're a good way for us to share larger amounts of information with the children.

Wednesday 3 June 2020 Informal letter PowerPoint

Wednesday 3 June 2020 Properties of 3D shapes PowerPoint

Wednesday 3 June 2020 Weapons PowerPoint

Thursday 4 June 2020

Friday 5 June 2020

Friday 5 June 2020 Banquet PowerPoint

Week beginning 8 June

Monday 8th June 2020

Monday 8th June 2020 Contractions PowerPoint

Tuesday 9th June 2020

Tuesday 9th June 2020 Questions and commands PowerPoint

Wednesday 10th June 2020

Wednesday 10th June 2020 Mapping it out PowerPoint

Thursday 11th June 2020

Friday 12th June 2020

Friday 12th June 2020 Funnybones reading comprehension task

Friday 12th June 2020 Energy experts PowerPoint

Week beginning 15 June 

Monday 15 June 2020

Tuesday 16 June 2020

Tuesday 16 June 2020 Expanded noun phrases activity

Tuesday 16 June 2020 Bar Mitzvahs and Bat Mitzvahs PowerPoint

Wednesday 17 June 2020

Wednesday 17 June 2020 Inverted commas rules PowerPoint

Thursday 18 June 2020

Coronavirus social story

Friday 19 June 2020

Friday 19 June 2020 English comprehension task

Friday 19 June 2020 Half and quarter turns

Friday 19 June 2020 Climate change

Week beginning 22 June

Learning grid week commencing Monday 22 June 2020

Art self-portrait task

Maths - Which operation? PowerPoint

Remote learning Day One

Rainforests PowerPoint

Remote Learning Day Two

Comparing traditional tales worksheet

Week beginning 29 June

Learning grid week commencing Monday 29 June 2020

Book review activity sheet

Alphabet PE game

Remote learning Day One

Remote learning Day Two

Story map sheet

Week beginning 6 June

Art week activity grid 

 

In addition to the work teachers have set there are lots of links on our Remote Learning page.

For Year 2, there is also:

Home Learning Pack for Year 2, with a guidance and answers booklet and some practical task ideas.

Year 2 Home Learning Projects from Robin Hood Trust: Week 1 – View Here, Week 2 – View Here, Week 3 – View Here, Week 4 – View Here, Week 5 – View Here, Week 6 – View Here, Week 7 – View Here, Week 8 – View Here, Week 9 – View Here, Week 10 – View Here, Week 11 – View Here, Week 12- View Here, Week 13 – View Here, Week 14 – View Here, Week 15 – View Here

Year 2 Home Learning Projects from HCAT: Week 1, Week 2, Week 3, Week 4, Week 5, Week 6Week 7Week 8Week 9

Mathematical Reasoning activities from Focus Education for Years 1-2

10 days of Home Learning resources from Twinkl (a very large .zip file)

Mathletics Time and Money work booklet for Year 2 and teacher guide 

50 recommended reads for Year 2